Such is life…

10 Sep

I know I haven’t written in a while.  It’s not for lack of things to say. It’s for lack of time.  My work has been so insanely busy.  All I want to do when I am not there is sit and sleep.  Seriously.  Today we slept in and planned on sitting on the couch all day.  So far – mission accomplished.

While sitting on the couch today, I decided to look at my finances.  I feel like life is just whizzing all around me and I am not paying much attention to it – or to detail, should I say.  So husband and I sat here, figured out what we make in a month, what we spend in a month, how long until our loans are paid off, etc.  Needless to say, it left me really, really depressed.  I work so hard and have nothing to show for it.  All my money is spent before I even get my check.  I know, we’re all living this American dream.  So my first plan is to stop eating out.  I only do it 2 times a week or so, but for $25+ a pop, I could get a lot more groceries and stretch my dollars even more.  My second plan is to possible get a seasonal job so I can save some money.  Because right now, there is nothing to save. I make enough to cover my bills, get gas and groceries and that’s about it.  Le sigh… such is life.

My friend Jen has an amazing blog.  The other day she “showcased” me.  I got one response so far and looking forward to more responses – hopefully.  But I’ll take what I can get and I love Jen for helping me out – you rock girlfriend!!

I’ve been doing VERY well on my gluten free diet.  My skin is clearing up,  my stomach is feeling better.  I’ve had a few run ins with cross contamination that haven’t been pretty, but I get through them and keep on chugging. I’ve been experimenting with different foods and inventing some recipes.  I also traveled a few times.  I believe I already told y’all I went to Florida.  I also took a roadtrip with my besties and a few friends to Nashville.  I love that place.  I need to find a way to move there.  We went to visit my friend R who had brain surgery, just after our visit.  She’s on the mends now, but please keep her in your prayers.  She has a long, hard recovery ahead of her.  Some of my Nashville friends also eat GF so they made sure I could eat at every place we went to.  It was fantastic.  And I went to my favorite bar, sat on the couch there and drank Strongbow cider.  Cider is GF and Strongbow is the best one I have ever had.

Speaking of alcohol, I just bought a GF beer.  I haven’t tried it yet, but I am very excited about it!!  I also found a delicious Riesling from Pacific Rim that had a VERY short lifespan in this house… oops!!

Has anyone tried this? St Peters?

Anyway, off to spend more time with the hubs… My next post, I am going to re-post what I wrote on Jen’s blog, in case anyone is reading that might have some ideas/input.

Thanks for reading! Talk to y’all soon!

xoxo

Kerry, changing chick

Leave a comment