6.5 months in

22 Oct

I have been gluten free for six and a half months now.  Not totally… I had a few slip ups of my own and had a few cross contamination issues, but I seem to have it pretty down pat.  That doesn’t mean I am not the most paranoid person, but living without is starting to just feel normal.  I think the biggest change is my skin.  My hands no longer look like I have 3rd degree burns all over them.  The dermatitis herpetiformis made my skin so uncomfortable, itchy, ugly.. I hated it.  I have a few dry patches here and there from the skin healing and clearing up, but my hands look normal for the first time since I can remember.  I still have some blotches randomly on my body from a cross contamination I had a few weeks back, but they’re healing.  I no longer go through a tube of cortizone every few days!

I love to cook.  And bake.  So making all my own meals GF has been pretty fun.  I take some regular recipes and think of ways to make them GF.  I find I am using fresher products to make my meals.  Most people eat processed or frozen foods that I bet they can’t even pronounce half the ingredients in!

When I went to the OB/GYN last month, I discussed my new found intolerance.  Last year we had briefly discussed the issue when I thought I may be.  She decided to do blood work to check my vitamin levels.  Sure enough, I was lacking.  Vitamin D is my biggest deficiency.  I suck at taking pills though.  I mean, I swallow them fine, but I forget to take them.  I am trying my best to take the 2000 i.u. they want me to take. Fingers crossed I get better at it!

I am now starting my next health/lifestyle change. Taking better care of ME.  Now that I have my GF diet under control, here comes weightloss time.  I have lost some weight already due to just being able to properly digest my foods, cutting out a lot of the crap I used to eat (I miss donuts though lol).  I know there are GF ones from Kinnikinnick that are supposed to be good, but I don’t want to get hooked. I need to be healthy.

I started using MyFitnessPal on my phone to keep track of my calories and exercise.  So far, in two weeks, I lost 6 pounds.  That’s a start!  Today and tomorrow I have exercise already planned – my meals too!  Today we are taking our dog to the dog beach – she loves it!

I love running with mommy on the beach!

Tomorrow I will be walking the Ocean City NJ Boardwalk as part of the HERO Walk with the HERO campaign to help raise awareness and fight drunken driving tragedies.  My lifelong friend Nicole was killed by a drunk driver in June 2010.   I have a team of 17 walkers (I’m the captain!) walking with me in her memory tomorrow. It’s a 5k along the boardwalk I will be walking.  No running, too many people will be with me.  Our team is 3rd in donations right now, out of many! So I am really excited and hope that I am making Nicole proud!

Nicole

Nicole Denise Romanelli 2/4/1982-6/5/2010

For my meals this weekend, I currently have some chicken breasts in the crockpot with salsa, chicken broth and some seasonings – all GF of course.  I will let it get all delicious and shred it later to make enchiladas.  I found Mission yellow corn tortillas that are labeled GF – a very exciting find for me!  I think I am at the point where if your label doesn’t clearly say GF – I ain’t buying.  I don’t want to take any chances – it’s not worth it.  Anywho, enchiladas tonight and maybe tomorrow… Or I’ll find something else to do with the chicken. Either way, it will be delicious!

Alright, off to the dog beach! I will be writing again soon, I promise.  I think I finally got this 😉

xoxo

Kerry, changing chick

One Response to “6.5 months in”

  1. jen October 22, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    I am so proud of you, my friend! Changing your entire way of thinking and eating is not easy! I know how you’ve struggled but you keep going.

    When I heal from surgery we will run! One day we will run thru BGP again! xox

Leave a Reply

