ZERO Excuses!

7 Nov

Greetings friends!! Today is my one year anniversary with my amazing husband! This time last year, my whirlwind of a fairy tale day was ending and I still had a huge smile on my face.  Today we spent a lot of time together, went to Philly to get our rings cleaned by our jeweler and then to our favorite restaurant in Society Hill – where Chris proposed and my bridal shower was!

Chris and I - 11/6/10

We made sure we got home at a reasonable hour so I could prepare my menu and food for tomorrow.  Tomorrow I start the ZERO Excuse challenge!! I am being sponsored by the ZERO ScaleThe Zero Scale is a unique, high quality bathroom scale that only reports the amount of weight you lose or gain. You never have to see your total weight again (unless you want to), making it easier for you to stay focused on incremental progress. The Zero Scale shifts the focus from “total weight” to “incremental changes”. This approach not only provides accountability, but also allows the user to focus on attainable progress that helps them achieve short and long-term goals.

The ZERO scale kit I received

Along with the scale, they hooked me up with the man who invented the scale, Rich Kreps – who is a certified personal trainer.  He emailed a workout program and a nutritional guide for the next 6 weeks.  In those 6 weeks, I will not only be following my normal gluten free diet, I will be doing The Paleo Diet.   Not only will the gluten be out of my diet, but so will a lot of items I use daily! Wikipedia has the Paleo diet described as: The modern dietary regimen known as the Paleolithic diet (abbreviated paleo diet or paleodiet), also popularly referred to as the caveman diet, Stone Age diet and hunter-gatherer diet, is a nutritional plan based on the presumed ancient diet of wild plants and animals that various human species habitually consumed during the Paleolithic era—a period of about 2.5 million years duration that ended around 10,000 years ago with the development of agriculture. In common usage, such terms as the “Paleolithic diet” also refer to the actual ancestral human diet.  Centered on commonly available modern foods, the “contemporary” Paleolithic diet consists mainly of grass-fed pasture raised meats, fish, vegetables, fruit, roots, and nuts, and excludes grains, legumes, dairy products, salt, refined sugar, and processed oils.

The Paleo Pyramid

So… bye beans! Bye grains! Bye half and half in my coffee!  I will be replacing you with more veggies in my diet.  More proteins in my diet.  Stevia, not sugar.  Almond milk instead of half and half or milk. Replace the preservatives and man made stuff with delicious, whole, clean foods.  I think I’ll be okay! Hubs is doing it with me for support, so we shall see!

The cool thing about this challenge is the scale.  Most people focus so much on the number on the scale. What do they weigh? They get so caught up on the number on the scale.  Not how they feel.  Not on small victories when the scale shows a loss.  The concept of the The Zero Scale is to see your results without seeing the challenge ahead of you.  Think about it.  If you got on the scale once a week and a number higher than what you’d like it to be popped up, you would be focusing on that.  Not the fact that you lost 5lbs that week.  Hating yourself instead of celebrating a little victory.  Over time, the little victories add up and you end up being happy with yourself.  It’ll be interesting to have a different mindset going into this weight loss journey.

I will be putting my meals up here, my little victories, my struggles and more.  It’s pretty scary to change your way of life, but exciting too. It’s so very necessary to become a healthy person.  In the next year or so, I want to start trying to have a baby.  I need to be healthy and in shape to do that and to have a safe pregnancy.  With all my low back issues from my surgery years ago, I need to stabilize my core now.  Get in shape now so I can support the added weight of a pregnancy!  Get healthy now is my goal! And stay healthy!

Love life!

Stay tuned for my journey!  Also, if interested, I will share my workout plan with y’all.  At the end of my new adventure, I will be sharing a discount on the The Zero Scale for all of you!

Til tomorrow!

xoxo

Kerry, changing chickDISCLAIMER: The Zero Scale was given to me for free in exchange for my review and experiences.  All opinions and thoughts expressed on this journey are my own.

2 Responses to “ZERO Excuses!”

  1. Helen November 7, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    First of all, Happy Anniversary! I’m looking forward to following along with you on the Challenge. I think it will be fun to see how each of us work the changes into our diets!

  2. mendingjen November 7, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY to you and Chris!! I have loved getting to know you over the last year and a half. I know this challenge will push you closer to your healthy goals! I look forward to watching you get even more awesome!!

    xox

Leave a Reply

